Our Team

Our Directors

Dan Takens, MA – President

Dan Takens has 32 years of leadership experience in education, where he has worked as a coach, teacher, principal, and superintendent.
Dan was born and raised in Grand Rapids, Michigan, and earned an undergraduate degree (education) from Calvin University. He then received a master’s degree from Calvin University (MAT) and recently retired as a public-school superintendent.
Dan is a servant leader with a passion for providing quality medical, health, spiritual, and behavioral care to the populations served.

Daniel Armstrong

Daniel Armstrong, DDS – Dental Director

Daniel began volunteering at Exalta Health in June 2013 and became a staff dentist later that year. In 2015 he was appointed Dental Director. Daniel previously worked for Mel Trotter Ministries, Cherry Health, and Grace Health in Battle Creek, Michigan

Daniel attended Cornerstone University, Grand Rapids Community College, Grand Valley State University, and the University of Michigan, receiving a Doctor of Dental Surgery degree in 2009. He completed an additional twelve-month training program at the University of Michigan Health System focusing on care for the mentally handicapped, those with complex medical conditions, and hospital inpatients.


Andrea Cervantes – Medical Clinical Coordinator
Angelica Cristobal – Medical Assistant
Sandra Deters, RDH – Dental Hygienist
Alma Duran-Martinez – Dental Assistant
Monserrat Dykema – Receptionist
Fabiola Enriquez – Medical Assistant
Shana Gonzalez-Dean – Dental Assistant
Karleigh Hoekstra – Volunteer Coordinator
Thressa Hoekstra – Executive Assistant and Office Manager
Fred Hoekzema, DDS – Dentist
Karem Merrick-Trevino – Billing Specialist/Office Assistant
Allison Meyaard-Schaap – Social Worker
Kristen Meyer – Chaplain
Deb Schorr – Dental Hygienist
Lynette Schreur, R.N. – Project & Quality Manager
Chris Shoemaker, MD – Staff Physician
Hannah Stegink – Social Worker
Rosa Torres – AmeriCorps Member
Ken VanBeek, LMSW – Behavioral Health Coordinator
Meg VandenBosh, RDH – Dental Hygienist

Board of Directors

Jeff Stormo – Chairperson
Kyle Hollemans – Vice Chairperson
Diane Knapp – Secretary
Curtis VanSolkema – Treasurer

Dan Butler
Amy Gerard
Scott Halquist
Doyle Hayes
Tom Hillegonds
Laura Martzke
Jose Nietes
Martha Norden
Ed Postma
Zayda Rodriguez

We rely on the kindness of our donors and volunteers.

If you have a heart to help, please consider supporting Exalta Health.